Mumbai Indians Creates History, Sweeps Delhi Capitals in Inaugural WPL 2023 Final

Rozana Spokesman


Shikha Pandey & Radha Yadav helped to lead team to victory

WPL 2023 Final

MUMBAI: Mumbai Indians have clinched the first title of the tournament by defeating Delhi Capitals by 7 wickets in the finals of Women's Premier League 2023. Shikha Pandey (27 not out) and Radha Yadav (27 not out) helped to lead team to victory. Delhi Capitals set a target of 132 runs against Mumbai. Mumbai Indians achieved this target with three balls to spare thanks to excellent innings by Nat Sciver-Brunt (60 not out) and Harmanpreet Kaur (37).

Chasing the target of 132 runs, the Mumbai team suffered two setbacks in the powerplay itself. Bhatia scored 4 and Mathews returned to the pavilion with 13 runs. Siver-Brunt scored an unbeaten 60 off 55 balls with seven fours and shared a 72-run partnership with Harmanpreet. Harmanpreet was run out before reaching the target but Sciver-Brunt hit the winning four off the third ball of the 20th over to give Mumbai a historic WPL title.

Shikha and Radha's unbeaten runs of 27 in just 12 and 17 balls, respectively helped the team to chase the score. Radha scored two fours and two sixes in her effort, while Shikha scored three fours and a six. Earlier, mumbai was in a good situation thanks to the eight wickets taken by Mathews, Wong, and Kerr combined. By collecting 16 wickets throughout the competition, Caribbean all-rounder Mathews tied the UP Warriors' Sophie Ecclestone for most. 15–15 wickets were taken in the competition by Wong and Kerr. 

Excellent fielding from Amanjot Kaur and Yastika Bhatia gave Delhi a big blow as Lanning was run out after scoring 35 off 29 deliveries. At this point, Delhi kept losing wickets at regular intervals. Mumbai bowlers completely dominated Delhi as Jess Jonassen fell prey to Matthews, who caught and bowled the batter. Matthews then delivered a stunning over to dismiss Minnu Mani and Taniya Bhatia in the 16th over.

Five teams participated in the first season of the Women's Premier League, of which Mumbai and Delhi Capitals managed to make it to the title race, where Mumbai Indians won the title by defeating Delhi Capitals in the final. UP Warriors won 4 out of 8 matches and lost 4. Royal Challengers Bangalore lost 6 out of 8 matches and finished fourth, while Gujarat Giants managed to win only 2 out of 8 matches and finished last in the points table.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) secretary Jay Shah on Sunday extended congratulations to the Mumbai Indians team for winning the inaugural Women's Premier League (WPL).

Taking to Twitter, Jay Shah wrote, "Congratulations to Mumbai Indians on winning the inaugural #TATAWPL. #TATAWPL has redefined women's sport and inspired millions of girls. #WPL2023 #WomensPremierLeague #YehTohBasShuruatHai."