IPL 2023: Gujarat Titans Thrashes Punjab Kings by 6 Wickets, Shubman Gill & Mohit Sharma Shines 

Rozana Spokesman  | Amanat Thaper


GT restricted PBKS to 153 for 8 off their 20 overs

IPL 2023, Match 18

MOHALI: The Gujarat Titans defeated Punjab Kings by six wickets in Mohali on Thursday (April 13) in the Match 18 of Indian Premier League 2023.  Gujarat Titans won their third match of the 2023 Indian Premier League. The team restricted PBKS to 153 for 8 off their 20 overs. The star players of the match were Shubman Gill and Mohit Sharma.

Shubman Gill’s 49-ball 67 crossed the target with a ball to spare. Earlier, Matthew Short top-scored for PBKS with a 24-ball 36. Mohit Sharma had taken 2 for 18 off his 4 overs to restrict PBKS to 153 for 8 off their 20 overs. 

For the Gujarat Titans, Wriddhiman Saha set the tone with a brisk 30 off 19 balls. He hit five boundaries which made GT chasing 154 for their third win of the season. Shubman Gill has been in spectacular form and hit boundaries for the Gujarat Titans. Hardik Pandya played a beautiful drive off Rabada with the bat. By the end of the over, GT needed 49 runs off 36 balls. They had no pressure as the ball was already in their court. GT needed 7 runs in the last over. Rahul Tewatia hit the winning runs with one ball to spare.

IPL 2023.....

The Indian Premier League 2023 (IPL) is the ongoing 16th season of the Indian Premier League, a franchise Twenty20 cricket league in India. It is owned and operated by Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). IPL 2023 started with a thrilling encounter between defending champions Gujarat Giants and Chennai Super Kings at Ahmedabad’s Narendra Modi Stadium on March 31, 2023. 

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) officially announced the IPL 2023 Schedule on February 17, 2023. The matches will be played in the home and away format where all the teams will play 7 home games and 7 away games in the league stage. The Indian Premier League is scheduled to have 70 league-stage matches and will be played across 12 venues over 52 days. 

IPL 2023 Squad List....

In the Indian Premier League IPL 2023, this year instead of 8, 10 teams are featured. Gujarat Titians were the Champions of the 15th edition of TATA IPL 2022. Mumbai Indians, Rajasthan Royals, Kolkata Knight Riders, Delhi Challengers, Lucknow Super Giants, Chennai Super Kings, Punjab Kings, Sunrisers Hyderabad, Royal Challengers Bangalore and Gujrat Titians are participating in the league this year.