IPL 2023: Punjab Kings Thrashes Rajasthan Royals by 5 Runs

Rozana Spokesman  | Amanat Thaper


Second Victory of Punjab Kings in a Row

IPL 2023

NEW-DELHI: In the eighth match of Indian Premiere League 2023, Punjab Kings defeated Rajasthan Royals by five runs. This is the second win in a row for Punjab Kings. Along with this, the Rajasthan team had to face defeat in the second match after winning the first match. With this victory, the Punjab team has reached the second position in the points table, four points behind Gujarat Titans.

Batting first, Punjab scored 197 runs for the loss of four wickets in 20 overs. In reply, the Rajasthan team managed to score only 192 runs for the loss of seven wickets in the allotted 20 overs and lost the match by five runs. Shikhar Dhawan scored the highest unbeaten 86 for Punjab. Along with this, Prabhasimran Singh scored 60 runs. Captain Sanju Samson scored the highest 42 runs for Rajasthan. Along with this, Shimron Hetmyer scored 36 runs and Dhruv Jurel scored 32 runs.

After winning the toss and batting first, the Punjab Kings team got off to a stormy start led by captain Shikhar Dhawan and Prabhasimran Singh. Both added 63 runs in the powerplay. After this, Prabhasimran Singh got out after scoring 60 runs in 34 balls but Dhawan remained at the crease.

IPL 2023.....

The Indian Premier League 2023 (IPL) is the ongoing 16th season of the Indian Premier League, a franchise Twenty20 cricket league in India. It is owned and operated by Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). IPL 2023 started with a thrilling encounter between defending champions Gujarat Giants and Chennai Super Kings at Ahmedabad’s Narendra Modi Stadium on March 31, 2023. 

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) officially announced the IPL 2023 Schedule on February 17, 2023. The matches will be played in the home and away format where all the teams will play 7 home games and 7 away games in the league stage. The Indian Premier League is scheduled to have 70 league-stage matches and will be played across 12 venues over 52 days. 

IPL 2023 Squad List....

In the Indian Premier League IPL 2023, this year instead of 8, 10 teams are featured. Gujarat Titians were the Champions of the 15th edition of TATA IPL 2022. Mumbai Indians, Rajasthan Royals, Kolkata Knight Riders, Delhi Challengers, Lucknow Super Giants, Chennai Super Kings, Punjab Kings, Sunrisers Hyderabad, Royal Challengers Bangalore and Gujrat Titians are participating in the league this year.